Wrath of the Lich King Beta Invitation

Last night the Wrath beta email appeared in my inbox. This was not surprising since I’d heard that Blizzard had verified that the Blizzcon 2007 Beta Codes would be used for the WotLK – I say I’d heard, because these days I’ve found myself just scanning some the WoW headlines, and I’d missed that one till my wife mentioned it to me.

A thorough reading of Wow Insider (well, as thorough as I could stand.. there is a lot of crap over there) is not the only thing dropped from my daily routine since I’ve stopped playing WoW. I’ve also stopped visiting the guild site as well. I don’t feel great about this, as this type of “make like an Ostrich” avoidance strategy is simply not a good way to deal with problems. On the other hand, the guild crap is what kept drawing me forward in a game that I was largely bored with, keeping me “at the keyboard” well after I otherwise would have allowed my playtime to drop off.

I’m told that the guild is experiencing no small amount of drama. Several members have posted their ‘resignation’ forum messages, so I presume that many many more have disappeared in the night. That this doesn’t bother me is a sign of where I’m at now, since two months ago even the threat of loosing a total pain-the-ass raider would have meant a couple hours of ‘damage control’. I may have recognized the absurdity of the faux-crisis, but would have been dragged into it all the same. An evening of teeth grinding and elevated blood pressure at the bargain price of 50 cents.

Now, I am strangely serene about the situation. Disconnected. While I remember having had fun in WoW, there were so many evenings of stress and drama that I can’t remember the feeling of simply ‘playing’. While I have ‘friends’ in the guild, they are ‘virtual’. Far closer to employees than actual friends. Certainly I was friendly with everyone, but in the end that was a management style – and as a manager, I don’t know that I invested myself deeply in any of the relationships. I feel closest to the guild leader, but the camaraderie of having fought together and shared experience is at play there – even a fake war with nonsensical battles builds bonds. Respect and sympathy, certainly. Friendship?

So, knowing that this email would be coming, I wasn’t sure how I felt about it. I’ve said before that I’m enjoying not playing. Golf, painting, Netflix, shopping. I don’t need to start playing WoW again.

Perhaps I’d get the email, and then let it sit and wait for a while. I’d open it in a few days. Maybe wait a few weeks to go any further. I don’t want to seem too needy. Play it cool.

Or maybe I’d get a few drinks in me over the weekend, and work up the courage to leave a slurred and disjointed message on Blizzard’s voicemail at 3am.

Instead, the mail hit my inbox and I’d setup my account and had started downloading the client before I even stopped to think. Crap.

Explore posts in the same categories: Guild, Raiding, WotLK Beta, WoW

Leave a Reply

