Available Tanking Upgrades – Heroics

This is a list on what gear I have, and what items I’m looking for at the Heroic Level.  This includes Heroic drops, Emblem of Heroism items, and crafted BoEs.  I’m not including any 10 or 25-man loot here, excepting what can also be bought with EoHs.

I’m still undecided on how to manage this type of post.  I may end up editing it as things change, but perhaps just put new ones out every so often.

Helm

Current: Tempered Titansteel Helm / Arcane-Shielded Helm / Ground Tremor Helm

I broke down and had the Titansteel Helm crafted, even though there are other better options out there. Those better options dropped the next night. The lack of a metagem really hurts the Epic, but it has so much stamina that it is still in my EH gear set.

The Arcane-Shielded Helm (w/ Austere Earthseige Diamond is my general purpose Boss tanking helm.

Ground Tremor Helm (w/ Eternal Earthsiege Diamond) is my threat piece.

Neck

Current: Burning Skull Pendant
Goal: Chained Military Gorget (EoHx25)

This will be the next upgrade I purchase with Emblems, would have been my first except for my horrid luck finding a belt.
Titanium Earthguard Chain is also a posibility here, but it takes 10 daily quests worth of tokens to get the pattern & craft it. I’d rather get the Emblem piece, and use those tokens for more patterns.

Shoulder

Current: Crusader’s Square Pauldrons
Goal: Wapach’s Spaulders of Solidarity (World BoE)
Alt: Pauldrons of the Colossus (Gun’drak)
Alt: Iron Dwarf Smith Pauldrons (Halls of Lightning)

With as many upgrades as I have in Gun’drak, I will probably be shooting for the Pauldons of the Colossus first. That, and Halls of Lightning seems like the more difficult of the two heroics.  Would like to pick up the BoE, but I have only seen it on the AH once – for 5000g – it isn’t *that* much better.

Cape

Current: Cloak of Peaceful Resolutions
Goal: Durable Nerubhide Cape (LW BoE)

This crafted piece is on my list of upgrades to pick up – just not at the top yet. There are no real upgrades in heroics.

Chest

Current: Breastplate of the Solemn Council
Goal: Heroes’ Dreadnaught Breastplate (EoHx80)
The only upgrade here is the Tier 7 piece, but since the token can be bought for Emblems this is a possiblity. Not my first choice for an upgrade though.

Wrist

Current: Svala’s Bloodied Shackles
Goal: Bracers of the Herald (Old Kingdom)
Alt Goal: Bindings of Dark Will (CoT:Strat)

Hand

Current: Horn-Tipped Gauntlets
Alt Goal: Heroes’ Dreadnaught Handguards (EoHx60)

The Tier 7 gloves are very nice, but I just picked up the Gauntlets from Gun’Drak. I’ll eventually work of the T7 piece (either using emblems, or raiding) – but for now I’m pretty content here.

Waist

Current: Waistguard of Living Iron

Got nothing else outside of Naxx-25. This was my first emblem purchase, and it finally let me replace my old Girdle of the Fearless.

Legs

Current: Bolstered Legplates

Got lucky finding these on my 2nd Heroic Violet Hold run. Nothing else to upgrade to outside of Malygos-25.

Feet

Current: Sabatons of Draconic Vigor
Goal: Tempered Titansteel Treads (BS BoE)
Alt Goal: Greaves of Ancient Evil (Old Kingdom)

I’ve nearly got the materials for the Titansteel Treads, so I will likely have that crafted soon. Not a major upgrade over what I have, but I think enough to justify the purchase – presuming I can take the hit to defense.

Rings

Current: Titanium Earthguard Ring
Current: Unsmashable Heavy Band

Goal: Keystone Great-Ring (Drak’Tharon)
Alt Goal: Band of Torture (Nexus)
Alt Goal: Woeful Band (Halls of Stone)

The Titanium ring I made as a JC’er, and will likely keep it for a while. My other ring I just picked up in Heroic Utgarde Keep and would like to find some other pieces to swap it out with.

Trinkets

Current: Figurine – Monarch Crab
Current: Figurine – Ruby Hare

Goal: Essence of Gossamer (Azjol-Nerub)
Alt Goal: Valor Medal of the First War (EoHx40)

The Monarch Crab will be used for quite some time, but I’d like to replace to Ruby Hare. Optimally, I’ll have the Essence of Gossamer for most fights, but will have the Emblem trinket for avoidance fights where I need another emergency button.

Shield

Current: Titansteel Shield Wall
Goal: Crygil’s Discarded Plate Panel (EoHx35)
Goal: Royal Crest of Lordaeron (CoT:Strat)

I have the Titansteel Shield, but would like to pick up one or both of these others – not a prioirty though. It’s not that the other two are upgrades, they are all very close, but they are different – and I can see keeping at least two of the three around for a while.

Ranged

Current: Armor Plated Combat Shotgun

Another slot where I am done for the time being.

Weapon

Current: Eternally Folded Blade
Goal: Red Sword of Courage (Utgarde Pinnacle)
Alt Goal: Infantry Assault Blade (Utgarde Keep)

The Red Sword is a great weapon, and it is certainly on my short list – but for now, Heroic Utagarde Keep is one of our prefered “quick emblem” run, so I should see the Assault Blade sooner or later.

Explore posts in the same categories: Heroic, Tanking, WotLK, WoW

Leave a Reply

