Available Tanking Upgrades – Heroics & 10-Man Raids

This is another gear post, mostly thrown together as a quick reference for my use.

It is a list of what gear I have, and what items I’m looking for in Heroics and 10-mans. This includes Emblem of Heroism items and crafted BoEs.  I’m using it to give me a quick list of what *is* an obvious upgrade, and what places are best for me to look for drops.  This is not an exhaustive list of things I’d like to see drop though ,as there are certainly other “occasional use” pieces that I’ll take if I come across them.

Helm

Current: Tempered Titansteel Helm / Arcane-Shielded Helm / Ground Tremor Helm
Goal: Heroes’ Dreadnaught Greathelm (Naxx10 – Kel’Thuzad)
Goal: Thane’s Tainted Greathelm (Naxx10 – Four Horsemen)

I’ve got three helms that I’m playing with at the moment, and would love to get something solid enough to replace them all.

The Arcane-Shielded Helm (w/ Austere Earthseige Diamond is my general purpose Boss tanking helm.
Ground Tremor Helm (w/ Eternal Earthsiege Diamond) is my threat piece.

Neck

Current: Chained Military Gorget (EoHx25)
Goal: Amulet of Autopsy (Naxx10 – Heigan/Gluth)

Having picked up the badge vendor item, I’m not seeing any major upgrades outside of Naxx.

Shoulder

Current: Crusader’s Square Pauldrons
Goal: Abomination Shoulderblades (Naxx10 – Patchwork/Gluth)
Goal: Heroes’ Dreadnaught Pauldrons (Naxx10 – Gluth/Loatheb)
Alt: Wapach’s Spaulders of Solidarity (World BoE)
Alt: Pauldrons of the Colossus (Gun’drak)
Alt: Iron Dwarf Smith Pauldrons (Halls of Lightning)

It isn’t that my current shoulders are bad, it is just that there are lots of good options. Aside for hoping for luck in Naxx, need to start pushing Gun’Drak and HoL Heroics.

Cape

Current: Durable Nerubhide Cape (LW BoE)
Goal: Gale-Proof Cloak (OS10 w/ 1 Drake)

The only available upgrade here is in Obsidian Sanctum, and only if at least one drake is left up. No doing that yet, but hope to give it a try soon.

Chest

Current: Breastplate of the Solemn Council
Goal: Heroes’ Dreadnaught Breastplate (EoHx80 or Naxx10 Gluth)
Alt: Massive Skeletal Ribcage (Naxx10 Sapphiron)

My current Rare quality chest piece is holding up very well, but I do hope to get a shot at the T7 piece very soon.

Wrist

Current: Svala’s Bloodied Shackles
Goal: Minion Bracers (Naxx10 Trash)
Goal: Bracers of the Herald (Old Kingdom)
Alt Goal: Bindings of Dark Will (CoT:Strat)

The main upgrades here drop in heroics that I’ve not run very much, guess I need to fix that…

Hand

Current: Horn-Tipped Gauntlets
Goal: Heroes’ Dreadnaught Handguards (EoHx60 or OS10)
Alt Goal: Gauntlets of the Master (Naxx10 Gluth/Faerlina)

The Tier 7 gloves are very nice, but I just picked up the Gauntlets from Gun’Drak. I’ll eventually work of the T7 piece (either using emblems, or raiding) – but for now I’m pretty content here.

Waist (No Upgrades)

Current: Waistguard of Living Iron

Got nothing else outside of Naxx-25. This was my first emblem purchase, and it finally let me replace my old Girdle of the Fearless.

Legs

Current: Bolstered Legplates
Goal: Heroes’ Dreadnaught Legguards (Naxx10 Gluth/Thaddius)
Alt Goal: Legplates of Inescapable Death (Naxx10 Loatheb)

Got lucky finding these on my 2nd Heroic Violet Hold run. There are a few small upgrades in Naxx10, but none of these are huge..

Feet

Current: Sabatons of Draconic Vigor
Goal: Plague-Impervious Boots (Naxx10 Noth)
Alt Goal: Tempered Titansteel Treads (BS BoE)
Alt Goal: Greaves of Ancient Evil (Old Kingdom)

I have the materials for the Titansteel Treads, so I will likely have that crafted soon. Not a major upgrade over what I have, but I think enough to justify the purchase – presuming I can take the hit to defense.

Rings

Current: Titanium Earthguard Ring
Current: Unsmashable Heavy Band

Goal: Keystone Great-Ring (Drak’Tharon)
Alt Goal: Deflection Band (Naxx10 Anub’Rekhan)
Alt Goal: Signet of the Accord (OS10)
Alt Goal: Band of Torture (Nexus)
Alt Goal: Woeful Band (Halls of Stone)

The Titanium ring I made as a JC’er, and will likely keep it for a while. My other ring I just picked up in Heroic Utgarde Keep and would like to find some other pieces to swap it out with.

Trinkets (No Upgrades)

Current: Figurine – Monarch Crab
Current: Essence of Gossamer

The Monarch Crab and Essence of Gossamer cover me for most fights. There are a few other trinkets I’d like to have to fill out my gear sets, nothing that I’ll miss too much if I don’t get.

Shield

Current: Titansteel Shield Wall
Goal: Crygil’s Discarded Plate Panel (EoHx35)
Goal: Royal Crest of Lordaeron (CoT:Strat)

I have the Titansteel Shield, but would like to pick up one or both of these others – not a priority though. It’s not that the other two are upgrades, they are all very close, but they are different – and I can see keeping at least two of the three around for a while.

Ranged (No Upgrades)

Current: Armor Plated Combat Shotgun

Another slot where I am done for the time being.

Weapon

Current: Eternally Folded Blade
Goal: Slayer of the Lifeless (Naxx10 Gothik)
Alt Goal: Red Sword of Courage (Utgarde Pinnacle)
Alt Goal: Infantry Assault Blade (Utgarde Keep)

The Eternally Folded Blade is very nice, but all these others are solid improvements.

Explore posts in the same categories: Heroic, Naxxramas, Obsidian Sanctum, Raiding, Tanking, WotLK, WoW

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

